Biology Department Faculty

This page lists the department chairs of the Biology department, and some other illustrious members of the department.  Links are provided to individual pages for some of these people.

Archives Home Page     Biology Department Home

James A. "Shine" McLaughlin,  (First Chairman, 1927)

Nicknamed "Shine," Professor McLaughlin first arrived at St. Bonaventure's College as a student in 1915. While enrolled at St. Bonaventure, "Shine" earned his Doctorate in philosophy and Master's in Science. After graduation, he became a professor of geometry and astronomy at St. Bonaventure's College. He also served as the coach of the basketball team, baseball team, football team, and the track team. McLaughlin later served a a professor of mathematics at St. Bonaventure, which he taught until his death in 1934 at age 46.

Dr. John Worden  (Department Chair from 1937-1943) Worden Photos

Dr. Kenneth Anderson (Department Chair from 1953-1970)

Dr. Alfred F. Finocchio (Department Chair from 1970-1975 and 1984-1990)

Dr. Finocchio received his Bachelor of Science and Masters of Education from Temple University in Philadelphia, and his Ph.D. from Columbia University. Before coming to St. Bonaventure, he taught military science in the US Army; he also taught at Temple University, Columbia University, and Rutgers University. Dr. Finocchio joined the St. Bonaventure faculty in 1963 as an assistant professor. In 1970, he was named a Danforth Associate and an "Outstanding Educator of America." Dr. Finocchio served as the chairman of the Biology Department from 1970 to 1975 and from 1984-1988. Dr.Finocchio was active in campus life serving on many Faculty Senate and university wide committees. In 1983, he and his student, Michael Kernan, discovered a new species of fungus. They named it Hymenoscyphus Monotropae. Dr. Finocchio died in 2013.

Dr. Ronald E. Hartman (Department Chair from 1975-1979)

A native of Allentown, Pennsylvania, a a U.S. Army veteran, Dr. Hartman graduated from Kutztown State College in Pennsylvania and received an M.S. and Ph.D. from Penn State. Dr. Hartman joined the St. Bonaventure faculty in 1962, where he focused his research on microbial physiology and biochemistry and published over forty journal articles. Dr. Hartman served as the Chair of the Biology Department from 1976 to 1979.

Dr. James P. White (Department Chair from 1979-1982 and 1990-1994)

Dr. White joined the St. Bonaventure faculty in 1967 as a professor of Biology. He focused his research on molds, and he served as the Biology Department Chairman from 1979 to 1982 and from 1990-1994. He also served as the dean of the School of Arts and Sciences from 1994 to 2003. During his time as dean, he established a Science Advisory Council whose efforts led to the construction of the William F. Walsh Science Center. He retired from the university in 2009 and was appointed professor emeritus in March 2010. Dr. White died Oct. 22, 2014.

Dr. William L. Wissinger (Department Chair from 1982-1984 and 1994-1997)

Dr. Theodore Georgian (Department Chair from 1997-2000)

Dr. John Kupinski (Department Chair from 2000-2004)

Dr. Patty Parsley (Department Chair from 2004-2006)

Fr. Peter Schneible (Department Chair from 2006-2007)

Joel Benington Dr. Joel Benington (Department Chair from 2007-Present)

Dr. Benington earned his B.A. in philosophy from St. John's College in 1985, and his Ph.D. in Biology from Stanford University in 1992. He has focused his research on the effects of sleep deprivation on cellular energy metabolism, the effects of oxidative stress on cellular energy metabolism, and ADP ribose production in primary cultures of astrocytes. He has also worked with Dr. John Kupinski on the changes in cellular energy metabolism during spore germination in the fungus Aspergillus nidulans.

Back to Top

Other department members of note:

Dr. Philotheus Boehner, O.F.M.

Dr. Richard Bothner

A native of the Bronx, New York, Dr, Bothner attended Fordham University, where he received a Bachelor of Science and a Ph.D. in Biology. He later served for three years as a First Lieutenant in the U.S. Air Force. In September 1958, Dr. Bothner joined the faculty at St. Bonaventure, where he became a Professor Emeritus of the Biology Department.

In 1965, Dr. Bothner was named the Chairman of Olean's new Pollution Abatement Committee. He was also one of 39 instructors from 21 states who participated in the Fourth Summer Institute for College Teachers in Biology at Arizona State University.

Dr. Bothner taught at St. Bonaventure for 35 years, from 1958 to 1993. He was an authority on herpetofauna (amphibians and reptiles). In addition, Dr. Bothner was a passionate naturalist who was known for giving very enthusiastic and humorous lectures on snakes. He was the author of the Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles (SSAR) Catalog article on the short-headed garter snake (Thamnophis brachystoma). Dr. Bothner died on February 15th, 2008.

Dr. Felix Jacques

Home Timeline
Lynch Hall/De La Roche Dr. John Worden Photos
Ph.D. Program Dr. Philotheus Boehner, O.F.M.
Walsh Center Construction Dr. Felix Jacques

 Back to Top

Website created by Greg Shugrue

Spring 2008 Archives Internship (History 495)


Updated & edited by Ellen Winger, Summer 2010.
Last update: April 9, 2015